SASIG forms all-new Independent Advisory Board

The Security Awareness Special Interest Group (SASIG) has established an Independent Advisory Board for its forthcoming ‘Big SASIG’ event comprising Chief Information Security Officers (CISOs) and industry experts who have been hand-picked for their wide-ranging expertise and knowledge of the cyber security industry.

The new Independent Advisory Board will assess proposed presentations and workshops taking place at ‘Big SASIG’, the flagship in-person SASIG event. The one-day conference will focus on the role of cyber security resilience and consider how the business community and public sector organisations are preparing for, responding to and recovering from cyber attacks.

The exclusive, invitation-only event is taking place on Wednesday 25 May in the City of London.

Mark Walmsley, global CISO and managing director at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, has been appointed chair of the ‘Big SASIG’ Independent Advisory Board.

Commenting on his appointment, Walmsley stated: “Our role is to make sure that the agenda at ‘Big SASIG’ features what matters most to cyber security professionals. Our sector insight is intended to maintain SASIG as the cyber security network of choice, where members can debate solutions, exchange examples of Best Practice and garner positive change in confidence.”

Martin Smith MBE, founder and chair of the SASIG, added: “The new Independent Advisory Board will keep ‘Big SASIG’ on top of the biggest issues in cyber security. Our ethos is different. Delegates come first, while vendors and users meet as equals. ‘Big SASIG’ is a real learning experience, delivered by experts from both the user community and partners. Together, they can explore risks, strategies and real-life improvements such that they can prepare for and prevent cyber attacks.”

Independent Advisory Board members

The members of the ‘Big SASIG’ Independent Advisory Board include:

*Mark Walmsley (chair)

*Helen Rabe (global CISO, Abcam)

*Andrew Gould (Detective Chief Superintendent and lead for the National Cyber Crime Programme at the National Police Chiefs’ Council)

*Mandy Haeburn-Little (CEO of Business Resilience International Management)

*Andrew Gudgeon OBE (head of ERM and operational risk for the UK and Ireland at Zurich Insurance)

*Jim Griffiths (head of information security, governance, risk and compliance at British Sugar)

*Paul Norton (founder and CEO of CyberHalo),  

*Sir Ian Andrews CBE (vice-chair of the National Preparedness Commission, former chair of the Serious Organised Crime Agency and senior independent director for NHS Digital)

*Steven Wilson (CEO of the Cyber Defence Alliance)

More information on the Independent Advisory Board can be found online at

To register your interest in ‘Big SASIG’ access the registration link at

The inaugural ‘Big SASIG’ event was held in March last year. ‘Big SASIG 2’runs at 155 Bishopsgate in central London and will bring the cyber security community together once again. To register as a delegate visit

Leave a comment

Filed under Security Matters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s